Wednesday, May 6, 2009

and now for my opinion on...American Idol

I've been watching American Idol religiously since it began, and every year, minus Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood and David Cook, I have been disappointed. I'm not sure if I just like tormenting myself, but I keep tuning in...one part out of not wanting to feel behind in pop culture, one part because I don't usually have anything else going on in that Tuesday night spot, and one part because I secretly love to see people who were working at Sonic become super famous icons. I especially love that episode when they get to go back to their hometown, and all these people that could have probably cared less about 6 months ago, are now screaming, yelling, begging for autographs and trying to get a piece of the action. But there is something important in that statement. We all want something to believe in don't we? To think that someone from our little piece of the world could rise above circumstance or situation and arrive in Hollywood, become a person that 41 million votes are cast for (far more than ANY presidential election) and could have a chance to realize their dream. There is something inherently romantic, and fairy-taleish about this. In a time where there is little hope in so many facets of life, some people are having the opportunity of their life time...

Also, there is the entertainment factor of Paula Abdul alone. Really, does anyone know what is wrong with her? Her outfits are trashy and show way too much cleavage, her hair typically resembles a birds nest, and her comments? I feel like I need a translator to understand what the HELL she is talking about. Her analogies are horrific. Her voice is grinding. She is an absolute train wreck. And my gosh I LOVE IT!

So, I've avoided being clear about my favorite because, well, I usually get really attached to a contestant and then they get voted off and I feel ROBBED, like when Chris Daughtry was ripped from my life that one Wednesday result day. But this year, there are two people that I absolutely love. Allison and Adam. I'll call them the A-Team, because I just thought of it, and it works.

Don't get me wrong. I like Danny. He has America's "sympathy" vote. He doesn't need it because he can hold his own vocally, but he has that tragedy thing going for him. In the beginning, he was my favorite. I wanted him to win. But, as time has gone by, I've become a little bored...it always seems like more of the same, and I think that I let my emotional attachment to the fact that he lost his wife cloud my ability to decipher his true skill. He is talented, but he isn't the most talented out there. His songs don't make me want to dance, cry, hide, or scream. And that is just the problem, they don't make me feel anything.

And Kris. Kris is on and off for me...sort of like most relationships I've had. Sometimes I love his songs, and sometimes, I can't stand them. I like him with his guitar, and then I don't like him with his guitar. He's cute as a button but that's all, after all these weeks, that I really have to say about him. Nothing else comes to mind. And that's the problem for me with him.

Now on to the A Team, Adam and Allison. I'm not going to lie. When Adam came out and sang "I Walk the Line" with cuitars playing in the back, I felt like I had been molested by Gothic Egyptians. I was frightened. It was so provocative, so scary, so...mesmerizing. That was the moment I drank the Adam Kool-Aid. I don't care how much eye liner he wears, or how many pictures he puts online of himself making out with other guys, I LOVE Adam. There is no one in the competition who can touch him vocally. As a woman, I can't even hit some of the notes Adam hits. So what if he is eccentric...and scary...and confusing...and strange. So what if I feel a little violated when he is done. Adam is off the hook talented, and my Tuesday nights are going to be BORING when this is done because of him. I know some people don't like him because of the above aforementioned reasons. Whatever your hang up is, you can't deny his raw talent, even if he doesn't use it in a way that pleases you.

And last, but not least, Allison. I have loved this girl since the first time she opened her mouth. She sounds like a 50 year old smoker, with her raspy voice. Yet, she is in the body of a 17 year old, wise beyond her year, super edgy rocker body. I think I tune in just for her hair color, and I wish that a. I didn't work at a Catholic school so I could have hair that color and b. who am I joking I don't have nearly enough courage to dye my hair that color! Let's see, at 16/17 I was awkward, self-absorbed, and google-eyeing the cute boys at my school. And at 16/17 Allison walks out on stage and blows my mind EVERY SINGLE WEEK. And then, Simon has to open his big mouth and say something like, you aren't cocky enough, you aren't quite as full of yourself as we would like. Waaaittt, WHAA?? Wait, are you telling a 16 year old girl to be full of herself? Oh dear heavens, that is everything that is wrong with this world. Why can she not be a really awesome, kick-ass, HUMBLE girl?

But alas, Allison has been in the bottom three countless times, Adam was there last week. Danny has never been there and Kris is there and then not there, there and then not there (which supports my earlier claim). And so now, I have set myself up for yet another crushing heartbreak provided to me by America. I won't tune in until its half over so I can skip the ridiculous amount of commercials...and I'll fast forward through the Ford Commercial (which is always lame), the group number (which is always lame), Ryan Seacrest's jokes (which are always lame) and go right to where someone goes home. And if it is Allison or Adam, I hope someone who reads this will save me from my anger and rage at being robbed yet again, bring me a margarita (we should celebrate Cinco de Mayo all month) and remind me to tune in again next year.

aformerblonde.

No comments:

Post a Comment